Two Thumbs Up: My Short Memory of Roger Ebert

An absolute legend has passed away.

Roger Ebert, a Pulitzer Prize winning film-critic, died April 4, 2013 at the age of 70.

There is a really solid remembrance of him posted on his blog by one of his editors.  Derek Sivers has also posted, linking to most of his movie review essays and providing other thoughts of his own.

My memory of Roger lies as a child, watching TV with my Dad and seeing “Siskel and Ebert” go back and forth about movies.

I remember a few movies where at the end of their review… Roger Ebert said the now legendary phrase “I give it two thumbs up.”

Here is some context behind that phrase from the legend himself on his blog:

What does Two Thumbs Up mean in this context? It signifies that I believe these films are worth going out of your way to see, or that you might rent them, add them to your Netflix, Blockbuster or TiVo queues, or if they are telecast record them.

Sir, I give your contributions to the film industry, and as a writer…

Two thumbs up.

RIP Roger.

