CTRL ALT DEL by Mitch Joel: A Review

Mitch Joel (@mitchjoel on Twitter) shared a review copy of his newest book, CTRL ALT DEL with me.  I’ve now read it cover to cover twice.

It’s even better the second time around… and I’ve only said that about 3 other business books:

  • The New Rules Of Marketing And PR by David Meerman Scott.
  • The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell.
  • Thinking Fast, And Slow by Daniel Kahneman.

This book joins the ones listed above.

Why?

The main reason is it makes a bold promise on the cover (Your Future Depends On It)… and then backs that promise up with carefully selected evidence and thinking.

Plus, Mitch Joel is one of those guys who thinks on a much deeper level than most “marketers.”  He doesn’t think “on the surface” or in a reactive way… he takes a step back and can see the bigger picture, and in most of his thinking, all of its parts.

For example, in CTRL ALT DEL there is a part where he writes a question “Do you need a mobile version of your business website?”.

Most people’s answer to that question would be a resounding “YES”.  My answer is no, as is Mitch’s… but for very different reasons.  You’ll have to pick up a copy of the book to see the rest of Mitch’s answer.  It will surprise you as it did me.

In fact, the way he explained just that one point reinforced why I listen to every word Mitch says.  I don’t agree with everything he stands for in business, but a good portion of it I do agree with.  Thinkers like Daniel Kahneman, Seth Godin, Steven Pinker, and David Meerman Scott round out a short list of people I pay regular attention to, that list includes Mitch Joel.

I’m going to conclude this NOT by recommending you to pick up a copy of his book.  Instead, I recommend you stop by Mitch’s blog at Twist Image first, and his Twitter account second.  Those should give you a solid perspective for considering whether or not picking up a copy of CTRL ALT DEL is a good idea for you.

4 thoughts on “CTRL ALT DEL by Mitch Joel: A Review

  1. I’m going to check this book out.

    My must read book is Antifragile by Nassim Nicholas Taleb. Really made me
    think about what I think etc.I have Kahneman’s book. Got it in London
    following a volunteer stint in South Africa – that’s an education in itself
    and rewarding.

    Neil Sawers

    Like

    • Nice to hear from you Neil! 🙂

      I’ve read Antifragile as well… great book. Check out Black Swan and Fooled By Randomness as well.

      Hope all is well with you.

      Like

Comments are closed.