Poem: What Happened?

In Ferguson, Police have become Military…

Leaving even the journalist’s eyes “teary”…

The United States is in an endless War…

I don’t even know my own country anymore…

What happened?

The NSA watches everyone…

They probably even know if I’m watching re-runs…

They stand up and say “it’s okay, trust us”…

The problem is they lied before Congress…

What happened?

This isn’t the America I learned about in school…

Where the politicians think that we’re all fools…

Where Big Business uses money to vote…

Then leaves the public on a sour note…

What happened?

Now, I do try to keep my chin up…

And I do hope we will join together and rise up…

To take back the country that I love…

All so I can quit asking myself…

What happened?

 

NOTE:  I am not a poet, but it's an attempt. :)
