The Publishing Experiment I Didn’t Know I Was Conducting

I have done some slow thinking over the holidays.

Writing my book, The Slow Manifesto, has been an interesting effort to say the least.

Slowly, it has been written with the intent to provide a “jump start” of sorts for anyone who might be introducing themselves to the slow lifestyle.

To get to the point, I’ve decided to use this publishing effort to experiment, to test some boundaries for myself.

I’m not going to publish the book in any sort of “entirety.”

Instead, true to the mission behind writing it in the first place, it will always remain a slowly evolving “book.” That is, it will never be completed in the traditional sense.

You can read The Slow Manifesto right now, right here on this website (opens in a new window).  You are free to keep reading it as long as I keep publishing different parts of it on that site.

The “Table of Contents” for the book itself will always be located here.

Not a TOC in the traditional sense though. There will be no page numbers, no chapters, no footnotes etc…

There will only be one, slowly evolving work always focused in the general direction provided in the manifesto.

And you can read each addition to this book for free, via a RSS reader, and/or via email if you’re logged into your WordPress account (look in the bar at the top of your browser).

It will always be there for you to read.  It was the book publishing experiment I was writing and conducting all along.

But no, it won’t be available on Amazon … and it won’t appear on the shelf at your local Barnes and Noble.

It will be there, on the website, as an ever-evolving online book … a permanent project if you will.

I never intended it to sell in the mainstream anyhow, so commercially publishing it wouldn’t have made sense.

My objective for this book was clarified even further as I ventured through 2014 and some personal challenges (close family dying, etc…).

I realized over the holiday that we live only once, and we must live slowly (it’s amazing, the automatic reflection process many of us go through around this time of year).

I didn’t want to keep revising a traditional or digital book, so I left The Slow Manifesto online so I can add and subtract from it at will.

The mission behind this book was also strengthened considerably. In fact, I would strongly state that the consequences for holding to the “status quo” are even more dire.

Status quo = heads in our gadgets, lack of connection to nature, lack of genuine human connection, etc… (more in the book)

But that’s only my opinion.

My book will be my constantly evolving statement for some of my guiding principles of life.

And I will leave it to you, dear reader, to discover for yourself as you dive deeper into what “slow” means for you and your family.

Use this online book to start you on your journey, but realize that your journey will never be complete.  It is always beginning.

Slowly.

And I will leave it to you dear reader, to decide whether or not you will support my work.  You’ll see a Donation button in various places on the book’s website.

Donate any amount you like, donate monthly if you would like (because this book will constantly be added to), or you can feel free to read without any donation at all.

In any case, I appreciate the fact that you have read what I have written at all, and I thank you.

Start your journey at the book’s Table of Contents

One thought on “The Publishing Experiment I Didn’t Know I Was Conducting

  1. Pingback: What Was I Writing About Again? - Joseph Ratliff

Comments are closed.