Quantify Thyself

L.M. Sacasas

An thought in passing this morning. Here’s a screen shot that purports to be from an ad for Microsoft’s new wearable device called Band:

Microsoft_Band__Read_the_backstory_on_the_evolution_and_development_Microsoft_s_new_smart_device___Windows_Central

I say “purports” because I’ve not been able to find this particular shot and caption on any official Microsoft sites. I first encountered it in this story about Band from October of last year, and I also found it posted to a Reddit thread around the same time. You can watch the official Microsoft ad here.

It may be that this image is hoax or that Microsoft decided it was a bit too disconcerting and pulled it. A more persistent sleuth should be able to determine as much. Whether authentic or not, however, it is instructive.

In tweeting a link to the story in which I first saw the image, I commented: “Define ‘know,’ ‘self,’ and ‘human.'” Nick Seaver astutely replied: “that’s exactly what they’re doing, eh?”

Again, the…

View original post 383 more words

