5 Things To Do Instead Of Media

Media includes:  TV, Twitter, all social media, news media, texting, cell phones etc…

You get the picture.

Let’s get to it:

1.  Read, and actually finish a book this year (or more).  Start with something deep and intellectually stimulating (like this for example).

2.  Think.  Just sit and think for an hour or two.  Do nothing else, no distractions.  Let your mind roam, but control the urge to do “media” stuff.

3.  Write.  Write 1500 words, right now.  I don’t care what, just write them.  Start a blog, and keep doing it, at least once a month (preferably more).

4.  Talk to someone, face to face.  Remember that?  Talking to someone face to face?  Yeah, quite a bit of the “real” world passes you by while your distracted with the social anesthetic of the digital world.

5.  Connect with someone deeply, face to face.  Don’t stop at talking, make one new friend … this year.  You can do it.  You’re not too shy, you just might not be used to this “developing relationships” thing.

Hell, there are probably 50 more things I could add to this list … but these 5 will be a good start.

You’ll notice that you feel better IF you do all 5, consistently, and live them … don’t just “check them off” daily.

You can do it.  Life is too short to put “I did the Internets good” on your tombstone.

4 thoughts on “5 Things To Do Instead Of Media

  1. Pingback: Breaking News (For This Blog): Comments Allowed - Joseph Ratliff

  2. I’m 50 years old in two weeks ‘ish’ and I don’t actually like computers and the internet, but it’s got my written work to an audience and I sell a fair few books via the internet, which is nice. I also meet some amazing people via the internet media, such as your good self, but I do limit internet time; having said that I have a ‘dumb’ cell phone with no credit, people have to call me, and I don’t carry it around, so no phone distraction. I listen to the BBC radio news every day and rarely watch TV. I read books all the time and always have at least 3 on the go. I don’t like the way the media has taken over human existence. I work nights and talk to people when I work and you’re right it’s great. I stop to watch the sunrise on my cycle ride home and listen to the birds. I have a theology of my own and so I meditate and I’m into philosophy too so ‘thinking’ is a favourite activity. You are so right because as a result of a limited media influence I think I am ‘healthier’ and ‘happier’ as a human… though as a writer I’m probably only going to write a thousand words today, though right now it’ 9 a.m in the UK, but I got in from work at 7 a.m. so it’s time for bed for me… oh and I have a new mantra that I invented which relates to the good point your blog entry makes about ‘living’; ‘Life is what happens to us whilst we are trying to make money.’

    Like

    • Yeah, sounds like you’re doing it right Ricky. Not that there is a “right” or a “wrong” way to use media, so long as you’re using it, and it isn’t using you. I’ve noticed a bunch of the latter with other people, and that inspired this post. They were connecting with media so much (smartphones), I wonder if they even know where they are.

      I love this:

      “Life is what happens to us whilst we are trying to make money.”

      Golden stuff.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Ricky … and keep connecting with people.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 5 More Things To Do Instead Of Media - Joseph Ratliff

Comments are closed.