Losing My Religion

Bubble & Blender

Note: This is, more or less, the text of the talk I gave at the International Startup Festival in Montreal on July 12, 2014.

This is a story that I’ve not told anyone before. It’s a story about how I found myself while finding my work. It’s a work in progress, but I think you’ll get the point.

The church my father served for 21 years – and where I did much of my growing up.

My father was the minister at the big Methodist church at the center of a small Western Pennsylvania town. When I was a kid there was –  beyond the Golden Rule –  really only one household  mandate: unless there was a real possibility that you might meet God face to face, you had to be in church on Sunday.

By church, I mean Sunday school, the 11 o’clock worship service, and social hour afterward…

View original post 1,795 more words

