Have Lyle

Thing of Things

I.

Alicorn has recently written Have Mercy, an essay about eugenics, and I have certain confused thoughts about it.

II.

I suppose it’s good to be upfront about such things: my true rejection of eugenics is that eugenics of certain traits I possess make me very very sad.

I would like people to continue to have the genetic difference that leads to borderline personality disorder. This is not precisely the same thing as the continued existence of borderline personality disorder, because BPD is a product of both genetics and environment. I would prefer children not be raised in traumatizing or invalidating environments in general, and protoborderline children be taught emotion regulation skills in specific, which would result in a decrease in BPD diagnoses.

Assuming that the gender system continues to exist, I would prefer that trans people continue to exist.

I would prefer that autism and the broader autism…

View original post 1,314 more words

