You’re delusional if you still believe America is the land of the free

The Wise Sloth

I heard the Star Spangled Banner hundreds, if not thousands of times throughout childhood, and I took its words to heart. I got misty eyed every time I heard Lee Greenwood’s “Proud to be an American.” I grew up proud to be an American. The idea that I lived in the land of the free and the home of the brave was ingrained into my ethos. It was part of who I was.

After having lived in America for thirty something years, knowing what I know now, I’ve come to the conclusion that if you still believe America is “the land of the free,” then you must either be insane or have a useless definition of the word “freedom.” Every facet of Americans’ lives are controlled by various public and private parties. There are layers upon layers of agencies, departments, councils, businesses and associations that enforce rules everywhere you go…

View original post 2,955 more words

