the proper use of lists

Non-existent threat indeed … it’s a list.

Object-Oriented Philosophy

The proper response to a list of anything –most influential, best, whatever– is not to become angry because you disagree with it.

At their best, these lists are a chance to learn about things that lie beyond your usual area of familiarity.

For example, some years ago I ran across a “100 Greatest Novels of All Time” list. There are lots of those floating around, but this one looked more serious than most, despite its evident flaws (too Anglocentric, not enough French authors). For me, the novels on that list fell into three categories. (1) Novels I had already read. (2) Novels I knew about but had not gotten around to reading. (3) Novels I had previously never even heard of. So I set myself the task of reading all 100, which will probably take a few more years to complete. And, some of the novels on the list do seem…

View original post 329 more words

