A Quick Note About Mental Health

Uncommon Graces

If an oncologist is diagnosed with cancer, does he forget how to treat it? Does he forget the symptoms? Is he any less certified to treat cancer patients? No.

He knows everything about his illness and how to treat it, but legally, he can’t. So goes the same for those of us who struggle with mental health and are intellectually high-functioning, no matter how socially isolated.

The doctor learned about his illness in medical school. I learned about mine from thirty-four years of living in the field of practice.

People think if I can use all the right terms and string words together just right, I don’t struggle. They think if I can be as “successful” as carefully selected social media highlights would suggest, I should smile a little bit more and cry a little less.

If I reach out to professionals and I sound like I know what…

View original post 166 more words

